Jones Ofori-Addo appointed acting managing director of

The board of directors of the Electricity Company of Ghana (ECG) has appointed Engineer Jones Ofori-Addo to act as the company’s managing director, following the statutory age retirement of Kwame Agyeman-Budu, until a substantive appointment is made.

Agyeman-Budu was similarly appointed as the managing director of Electricity Company of Ghana, having served as its deputy managing director, on 3 November 2019.

He took over from Engineer Samuel Boakye-Appiah, who was directed to vacate thepost after serving for almost the years.

Until his appointment as ECG acting managing director, Engineer Ofori-Addo was the deputy managing director in charge of sales, customer service and finance.

A circular numbered 2022/139, dated 12 May 2022 and signed by Cynthia Amartey, ECG director in charge of human resources, said Ofori-Addo’s appointment takes effect from 13 May 2022.

“All staff are expected to give him the maximum support in the discharge of his duties,” said the circular copied to a list of personnel including directors, general managers, supervisors and the general secretary of the Public Utility Workers’ Union (PUWU).

75 years of power
Electricity Company of Ghana is a limited liability company wholly owned by the Government of Ghana. It was incorporated under the Companies Code 1963 in February 1997.

It launched as the Electricity Department on 1 April 1947 and became the Electricity Division in 1962.

Before becoming ECG, as it is now called, the Electricity Department was converted in 1967 into Electricity Corporation of Ghana by NLC Decree 125.

In July 1987, the Volta River Authority set up the Northern Electricity Department (NED, now NEDCo), which took over from ECG responsibility for the management of electrical power distribution in the Brong-Ahafo, Northern, Upper East and Upper West Regions.

The company is responsible for distribution of electricity in nine operational divisions covering the southern part of Ghana – namely, Accra East, Accra West, Ashanti, Central, Eastern, Tema, Volta, Western and sub-transmission – which are further decentralised into 88 operational districts.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.